The federal $7,500 credit is gone for new purchases. 11 states still have a rebate or credit an individual can claim, one has run out of money for the year, and 8 have closed or paused theirs. Every row below was read off the page of the body that administers it, on 12 September 2026.
Last updated .
For anyone reading an older page about this: the federal clean vehicle credit of up to $7,500 no longer exists for new purchases. The IRS puts it in one sentence on its own page — “The New Clean Vehicle Credit is not available for vehicles acquired after Sept. 30, 2025.” (IRS, Credits for new clean vehicles purchased in 2023 or after). A vehicle had to be acquired on or before 30 September 2025, and acquired means a binding written contract and a payment, not a delivery date.
So the only purchase money left is whatever your state runs. We checked all fifty on 12 September 2026, one at a time, on the page of the body that actually administers the programme.
Of the fifty states, 11 have a purchase rebate or credit open to individuals right now. One more, Maryland, still has a programme on the books but has run out of money for the year. 8 states had one and lost it — 5 closed outright and 3 paused or never funded. The remaining 30 have never offered one.
Two numbers get confused in almost every article on this subject, so they are kept apart here. The most an ordinary buyer can get is $4,000 in New Jersey. The largest figure in the country is $12,000 in California, but that is an income-qualified scheme and most households do not qualify. Both are real; they are not the same offer.
No income test on these — price caps and residency rules still apply, and they are in the table.
| State | Programme | Most you can get | Income / price cap | Administered by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | MyFirstEV | $3,500 for new vehicles, $1,750 for used vehicles | — | California Air Resources Board (CARB) |
| California | Clean Cars 4 All (CC4A) | $10,000 for zero-emission vehicles (up to $12,000 in a disadvantaged community), plus up to $2,000 for charging equipment | household income <= 300% of the Federal Poverty Level | California Air Resources Board (CARB), implemented by participating local air districts and statewide by DCAP |
| Colorado | Innovative Motor Vehicle Credit | $750 refundable credit for a new BEV/PHEV/FCEV purchased or leased in 2026, plus an additional $2,500 if MSRP is under $35,000 (up to $3,250 total) | No credit for any vehicle with MSRP over $80,000; the extra $2,500 credit applies only to vehicles with MSRP under $35,000 | Colorado Department of Revenue |
| Colorado | Vehicle Exchange Colorado (VXC) | Point-of-sale rebate of $9,000 for a new EV purchase/lease or $6,000 for a used EV, for income-qualified buyers trading in an old/high-emitting vehicle | Income-qualified (specific income threshold not stated on the page checked) | Colorado Energy Office |
| Connecticut | CHEAPR (Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate) - Standard Rebate | $1,000 standard rebate for new battery electric vehicles (BEV); $500 for new plug-in hybrids (PHEV); higher Rebate+ amounts for income-qualified residents | $50,000 MSRP cap | Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP); administered by Center for Sustainable Energy (CSE) |
| Delaware | Delaware Clean Vehicle Rebate Program (DECVRP) | New BEV: $2,500 (base MSRP <$40k) or $1,500 (MSRP $40k-$50k); New PHEV: $1,000; Used BEV: $2,500 and Used PHEV: $1,000 (Fair Purchase Price <$40k) | New vehicles: base MSRP up to $50,000; used vehicles: Fair Purchase Price below $40,000 | Delaware Dept. of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) |
| Illinois | Illinois EV Rebate Program | $4,000 for low-income applicants; $2,000 for other eligible applicants (all-electric vehicle); $1,500 for electric motorcycles | Applicant's family income cannot exceed 500% of the federal poverty line for the current State fiscal year / $80,000 selling price, not including state/local taxes, license/registration fees, documentary fees, or itemized aftermarket products | Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (Illinois EPA) |
| Maine | EV Rebates for Low- and Moderate-Income Mainers | New BEV: $8,000 (low income) / $6,000 (moderate income); Used BEV: $4,000 (low income) / $3,000 (moderate income) | Low income: household member on MaineCare, HEAP, SNAP, or TANF. Moderate income: AGI under $70,000 (single filer) or $100,000 (joint filer). / New vehicles up to $55,000 (up to $80,000 for eligible pickups/commercial vans); used vehicles up to $50,000 final purchase price. | Efficiency Maine |
| Massachusetts | MOR-EV Standard | $3,500 rebate for a new light-duty battery-electric or fuel-cell-electric vehicle with Total MSRP of $55,000 or less | $55,000 Total MSRP for new vehicles under MOR-EV Standard | Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources (administered by the Center for Sustainable Energy) |
| New Jersey | Charge Up New Jersey | $1,500 base incentive, up to $4,000 total for income-qualified buyers via Charge Up+ | Vehicles with an MSRP exceeding $55,000 are ineligible | New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU), via the NJ Clean Energy Program |
| New York | Drive Clean Rebate for Electric Cars | $500 to $2,000 point-of-sale rebate based on vehicle MSRP and all-electric range | Vehicles with MSRP over $42,000 receive only the reduced $500 rebate (not disqualified, but reduced) | NYSERDA (New York State Energy Research and Development Authority) |
| Oregon | Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program - Standard Rebate | $2,000 for new BEVs and $1,500 for new PHEVs (10+ kWh battery); $750 for smaller-battery BEVs/PHEVs; $375 for zero-emission motorcycles | Base MSRP under $50,000 | Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) |
| Oregon | Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program - Charge Ahead Rebate | $7,500 for new BEVs and $5,000 for new PHEVs; up to $4,000 (or 30% of price) for used BEVs; up to $2,500 for used PHEVs | Household income below 400% of the federal poverty guideline / Base MSRP under $50,000 | Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) |
| Rhode Island | DRIVE EV | New BEV/FCEV: $3,000; New PHEV: $2,000; Used BEV/FCEV: $2,500; Used PHEV: $1,750 | New vehicles up to $75,000; used vehicles up to $55,000 (excludes taxes, registration, delivery fees, and capitalized cost reductions). | Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources / Rhode Island Infrastructure Bank |
| Rhode Island | DRIVE+ | Additional $1,500 for income-qualified buyers, stacked on top of DRIVE EV | Household income at or below limits ranging from $42,252 (1-person household) to $126,756 (14-person household), or enrollment in a qualifying state/federal income program. | Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources |
This is the part other lists get wrong, because a programme page stays up long after the money stops. Each of these is quoted from the administering body’s own page:
California is the one worth spelling out, because it is still listed as live nearly everywhere: the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) closed to new applications in November 2023. California does have current programmes — they are different ones, and they are in the table above.
Status as at 12 September 2026. Every “source” link goes to the body that runs the programme, not to a summary of it. The same table is a CSV download.
| State | Status | What is on offer | Verified on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Alaska | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Arizona | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Arkansas | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| California | Open | $3,500 for new vehicles, $1,750 for used vehicles · MyFirstEV — Launched August 3, 2026, statewide, no income requirement; funded per-manufacturer on a first-come first-served basis, so availability varies by automaker (media reports say Tesla's allocation was already exhausted in August 2026). A secondary source (CleanTechnica) reports a $50,000 MSRP cap for manufacturers under the standard cap, but that figure is not stated on CARB's own MyFirstEV pages fetched here, so it is not printed as a verified price cap. $10,000 for zero-emission vehicles (up to $12,000 in a disadvantaged community), plus up to $2,000 for charging equipment · Clean Cars 4 All (CC4A) — Requires retiring/scrapping an eligible older vehicle and household income at or below 300% of the Federal Poverty Level; delivered through five participating air districts (South Coast, San Joaquin Valley, Bay Area, Sacramento Metro, San Diego) or the statewide Driving Clean Assistance Program (DCAP) for residents elsewhere. amount not stated · Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) — Closed to all new applications since November 8, 2023; applications filed on/after September 6, 2023 were placed on a standby list only. Listed here to make explicit that this program - the one most people search for - is gone. | source source source |
| Colorado | Open | $750 refundable credit for a new BEV/PHEV/FCEV purchased or leased in 2026, plus an additional $2,500 if MSRP is under $35,000 (up to $3,250 total) · Innovative Motor Vehicle Credit — Refundable credit currently in effect for 2026; the base amount stepped down from $3,500 in 2025 to $750 in 2026 under the statutory schedule. Point-of-sale rebate of $9,000 for a new EV purchase/lease or $6,000 for a used EV, for income-qualified buyers trading in an old/high-emitting vehicle · Vehicle Exchange Colorado (VXC) — Increased rebate amounts took effect November 3, 2025; stacks with the Innovative Motor Vehicle Credit above. | source source |
| Connecticut | Open | $1,000 standard rebate for new battery electric vehicles (BEV); $500 for new plug-in hybrids (PHEV); higher Rebate+ amounts for income-qualified residents · CHEAPR (Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate) - Standard Rebate — Program is actively accepting applications through enrolled dealers; funds allocated first-come, first-served; BEV standard rebate was raised from $500 to $1,000 effective October 1, 2025 after the federal EV credit ended. | source |
| Delaware | Open | New BEV: $2,500 (base MSRP <$40k) or $1,500 (MSRP $40k-$50k); New PHEV: $1,000; Used BEV: $2,500 and Used PHEV: $1,000 (Fair Purchase Price <$40k) · Delaware Clean Vehicle Rebate Program (DECVRP) — Current program cycle covers vehicles purchased or leased between May 1, 2026 and April 30, 2027; rebate application due within 90 days of purchase/lease. Applications tied to purchases before May 1, 2026 (prior cycle) are no longer accepted. | source |
| Florida | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Georgia | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Hawaii | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Idaho | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Illinois | Open | $4,000 for low-income applicants; $2,000 for other eligible applicants (all-electric vehicle); $1,500 for electric motorcycles · Illinois EV Rebate Program — Current round: August 1, 2026 - December 31, 2026 (applications must be postmarked in that window and within 180 days of purchase). $14 million appropriated for the current fiscal year; subject to funds availability. | source |
| Indiana | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Iowa | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Kansas | No state programme | amount not stated · Alternative-fuel Tax Credit — The credit exists in statute but has been restricted to C corporations since tax year 2013 and is not available to individual filers. | source |
| Kentucky | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Louisiana | Closed | amount not stated · Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Tax Credit — Statute (La. R.S. 47:6035), which had allowed a credit for alternative fuel vehicle purchases, was formally repealed and is no longer available to individuals. | source |
| Maine | Open | New BEV: $8,000 (low income) / $6,000 (moderate income); Used BEV: $4,000 (low income) / $3,000 (moderate income) · EV Rebates for Low- and Moderate-Income Mainers — Income-qualified rebate program presented as currently active on Efficiency Maine's own page; no closure or waitlist language found. Headline amounts include a time-limited $1,000 bonus. | source |
| Maryland | Waitlisted | $3,000 for a zero-emission plug-in electric or fuel cell vehicle ($1,000 for a 2-wheeled and $2,000 for a 3-wheeled zero-emission motorcycle) · Excise Tax Credit for Plug-In Electric or Fuel Cell Vehicles — Fiscal Year 2026 funding is fully depleted; MVA keeps accepting applications and places them on a waiting list for FY2027 money, which is not available until after July 1, 2026 at the earliest. | source |
| Massachusetts | Open | $3,500 rebate for a new light-duty battery-electric or fuel-cell-electric vehicle with Total MSRP of $55,000 or less · MOR-EV Standard — Applications currently open ('Apply Now' live on the program's own site). Plug-in hybrids (PHEVs) were phased out of MOR-EV and have not been eligible for purchases/leases after June 30, 2023 - only BEV and FCEV currently qualify. DOER proposed amendments (lower price caps, new income threshold for the MOR-EV+ adder) with a public comment period that ran through Sept 4, 2026; not yet in effect as of this check. | source |
| Michigan | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Minnesota | Closed | Historical, per AFDC (not shown on current program page): up to $2,500 for new vehicles, up to $600 for pre-owned vehicles · Minnesota EV Rebate Program — Program ran February 7, 2024 to January 3, 2025 and issued over 6,600 rebates from a $15 million legislative appropriation across 75 of Minnesota's 87 counties; no longer accepting applications. | source |
| Mississippi | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Missouri | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Montana | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Nebraska | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Nevada | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| New Hampshire | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| New Jersey | Open | $1,500 base incentive, up to $4,000 total for income-qualified buyers via Charge Up+ · Charge Up New Jersey — Applies to the purchase or lease of a new eligible battery-electric vehicle only; plug-in hybrids are excluded ('Any PHEV purchased, ordered or leased on or after January 1, 2023' is ineligible). Not to be confused with NJDEP's separate commercial Clean Fleet EV/Charging program, which was paused to new applications July 24, 2026. | source |
| New Mexico | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| New York | Open | $500 to $2,000 point-of-sale rebate based on vehicle MSRP and all-electric range · Drive Clean Rebate for Electric Cars — No pause, waitlist, or closure notice appears on NYSERDA's program page (fetched live 2026-09-12); page uses present-tense language directing buyers to participating dealers now. A separate NYSERDA solicitation page for 'PON 3405' displays 'This solicitation is closed,' but this appears to reference a past procurement/dealer-enrollment round, not the live consumer rebate. | source |
| North Carolina | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| North Dakota | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Ohio | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Oklahoma | No state programme | amount not stated · Credit for Investment in Qualified Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Property — This credit exists and is open through tax year 2028, but the Tax Commission's own Form 567-A lists only Compressed Natural Gas, Hydrogen Fuel Cell, Liquefied Natural Gas, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas as qualifying fuel types for the vehicle purchase/conversion credit - there is no battery-electric or plug-in-hybrid option. | source |
| Oregon | Open | $2,000 for new BEVs and $1,500 for new PHEVs (10+ kWh battery); $750 for smaller-battery BEVs/PHEVs; $375 for zero-emission motorcycles · Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program - Standard Rebate — Program reopened for a limited 2026 window; vehicles purchased or leased Aug. 25 through Nov. 4, 2026 are eligible. DEQ expects funds to be fully subscribed and rebates suspended starting Nov. 5, 2026. $7,500 for new BEVs and $5,000 for new PHEVs; up to $4,000 (or 30% of price) for used BEVs; up to $2,500 for used PHEVs · Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program - Charge Ahead Rebate — Same 2026 open window as the Standard Rebate (Aug. 25-Nov. 4, 2026), restricted to lower/moderate-income households; funds expected to be exhausted around Nov. 5, 2026. | source source |
| Pennsylvania | Closed | $3,000 rebate for battery electric vehicles (up from $2,000); $1,500 for plug-in hybrids; $500 for other AFVs/electric motorcycles; additional $1,000 for low-income applicants · Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Rebate Program — DEP's page states the program is closed. When active it covered new, pre-owned, or demonstration vehicles with a final purchase price of $45,000 or less. | source |
| Rhode Island | Open | New BEV/FCEV: $3,000; New PHEV: $2,000; Used BEV/FCEV: $2,500; Used PHEV: $1,750 · DRIVE EV — Post-purchase rebate, first-come first-served, subject to fund availability; program page shows no waitlist or closure notice as of check date. Applications must be filed within 120 days of purchase/lease; one per person per 36 months. Additional $1,500 for income-qualified buyers, stacked on top of DRIVE EV · DRIVE+ — Page displays an active "APPLY HERE!" application link; contingent on fund availability, first-come first-served. | source source |
| South Carolina | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| South Dakota | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Tennessee | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Texas | Closed | Historical, per AFDC (not shown on current closed program page): up to $2,500 for electric/hydrogen fuel-cell vehicles and qualifying plug-in hybrids with a battery of at least 4 kWh · Light-Duty Motor Vehicle Purchase or Lease Incentive Program (LDPLIP) — TCEQ's dedicated LDPLIP page displays 'Currently Closed'. Grants, when open, were awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. | source |
| Utah | Paused | Voucher up to $10,000 (household income ≤300% FPL), $7,000 (301-400% FPL), or $4,000 (401-500% FPL) toward a new or used EV · Electric Vehicle Replacement Assistance Program (EVRAP) — Administered independently by each county, so status varies by county. Utah County: "Applications Temporarily Paused" (high demand/funding review). Salt Lake County: "not currently accepting applications." No county was found currently open as of check date. | source |
| Vermont | Paused | amount not stated · New Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Incentive Program — VTrans's own current incentives page describes this and four related programs only in the past tense with no live application path. Independently, Vermont Public reported (Oct 2024) that the program went on hold when 2022-appropriated funds ran out faster than expected and Vermont's $20 million federal EPA grant application was denied, with no confirmed resumption date since. The program previously paid up to $5,000 toward a new or used EV for income-eligible residents, but that figure is not restated on VTrans's current page, so it is not printed here as a live amount. | source |
| Virginia | Paused | $2,500 base rebate for a new or used EV purchase, plus $2,000 more for buyers at or below 300% of federal poverty guidelines, as authorized by statute · Electric Vehicle Rebate Program — Authorized by the General Assembly in 2021 (Code of Virginia 45.2-1726 et seq.), effective through January 1, 2027, but the General Assembly has never appropriated funding for it, so no rebate has ever been paid out. | source |
| Washington | Closed | Full state retail sales/use tax exemption on new vehicles priced up to $45,000 and used vehicles valued up to $30,000; program has expired · Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Clean Alternative Fuel and Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles — Expired for new purchases/leases as of July 31, 2025. A lease that already qualified on or before that date may continue claiming the exemption on its payments through July 31, 2028, but no exemption applies to any new purchase or lease made today. Point-of-sale rebate for lower-income buyers/lessees; average rebate paid was $7,360; all funding has been claimed · EV Instant Rebate Program (low-income) — Program opened Aug. 1, 2024 and closed within about 90 days after its $45 million in funding was fully claimed (around Oct. 22, 2024). No new round is currently open, though 2025-26 legislation directs future dealer/lessor fee revenue into an EV Account for possible future instant rebates. | source source |
| West Virginia | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Wisconsin | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals | |
| Wyoming | No state programme | No purchase rebate or credit for individuals |
We started from the Department of Energy’s state laws and incentives index, which is the best public list of what exists, and then verified every candidate on the administering body’s own page. 28 of the 28 programme rows here were confirmed that way.
That second step is the whole point, because the federal index lags. It carried Rhode Island’s old, lower amounts; it still showed Oregon’s expired window; it listed Minnesota, Pennsylvania and Texas as though their rebates were running when each agency’s own page says closed; and it did not mention Maine’s or Utah’s programmes at all.
What this page is not. It covers purchase and lease incentives for a private individual buying a light-duty EV or plug-in hybrid. It deliberately leaves out home-charger rebates, electric-utility rate plans and one-utility offers, fleet and commercial schemes, HOV access, and the registration surcharges several states charge EV owners — each is a real thing, and each is a different question. For the thirty states with nothing, there is generally no agency page that announces an absence, so that verdict rests on the federal index plus a direct check of the state’s own energy or revenue site where one exists.
Programmes open and close on budget cycles, so the date above matters more than usual. If a row is out of date, tell us and it gets corrected — the address is on the press and data page.
Not for new vehicles acquired after 30 September 2025. The IRS states: "The New Clean Vehicle Credit is not available for vehicles acquired after Sept. 30, 2025." State programmes are separate and some are still running.
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island. Maryland still has a credit on the books but its funds for the year are gone.
$12,000 in California, but that is income-qualified. The most an ordinary buyer with no income test can get is $4,000 in New Jersey.
Because a programme page usually stays online after the money stops, and the federal index that most articles copy from lags behind the agencies. Every status here was read off the administering body’s own page on the date shown.
No. The Clean Vehicle Rebate Project closed to new applications in November 2023. California runs different programmes now, and they are in the table.
Some do. Where a programme has a used-vehicle amount it is shown in the state’s row.
Deliberately excluded. This page is purchase and lease incentives for an individual buying the vehicle; charger and utility offers are a separate question with different rules.